KWHA General Association FALL BANQUET 10/26/24

1:00 PM / FOSSIL CREEK HOTEL & SUITES / RUSSELL, KS

President Jared Scheck called the meeting to order at 1:05 pm.

ATTENDEES

31 clubs present, with 59 votes available. 39 is two-thirds majority; 30 is the majority

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Secretary Lynn Sidman read the minutes from the February 17, 2024, Spring Kickoff general meeting.

1. Tonya Kohr moved to approve the minutes; Donna Morris seconded. Motion carried.

Treasurer Norleen Knoll presented the starting balance of the general association account to be \$36,973.06, with an ending balance of \$40,904.76. The Cash Dash raffle at state show netted \$1,710 in profit, and the benefit barrel race earned \$531.

• Linda Sanders moved to approve the treasurer's general association account report; Angel Amlong seconded. Motion carried.

Treasurer Norleen Knoll presented the starting balance of the scholarship fund to be \$15,260.51, with \$4,500 of those funds allocated to scholarships yet to be paid.

• Shawn Kohr moved to approve the treasurer's scholarship fund report; Mark Riley seconded. Motion carried.

OLD BUSINESS

• **Rule Change Corrections:** President Jared Scheck announced rule change corrections that had been presented at the state show BOD meeting on 8/30/24.

• Committee Reports:

- Finance Committee: Norleen Knoll corrected her earlier report \$5,450 of the scholarship fund is allocated to scholarships not yet paid out. Shawn Kohr moved to amend his previous motion to include the corrected scholarship amount; Willard Sanders seconded. Motion carried. Norleen Knoll reminded everyone to bid on the silent auction items. Winners would be announced between individual awards and high point awards.
- State Show Committee: Mark Riley said that state show had gone well this year.
- Judges Committee: Gregg Tucker reported that 4 new judges had been approved by the BOD.
- Scholarship Committee: Benton Hrabe said that there were 6 scholarship applicants, and that 2 will be awarded scholarships in the amount of \$1,200 each at the banquet. He reminded everyone of the requirements of anyone who would like to apply.
- Rules Committee: Submitted rule changes to be presented later in the meeting.
- Awards Committee: Jaiden Perales reported that both the state show and year end awards came in under budget, and that the awards budget paid for all the FAST Cash awards at state show.
- Benefit Show Committee: Jared Scheck, in Toma Griffey's place, gave a quick rundown of the fundraisers we held at the benefit show including a calcutta, which was very popular.
- Web Social Committee: Jared Scheck said that recently KWHA's Facebook page had been flooded with other association's posts, which effectively buried promotions for KWHA events. In order to fix this, comments to on other posts other than KWHA's will be shut off so that those posts are not bumped to the top. Renee Nichols said that Eagle Communications has been waiting on the website committee to finalize desired changes that were presented at the 6/1/24 BOD meeting, but that the committee had not acted.

 Points Committee: Renee Nichols reported that all points had been triple checked by Ken Newberg, Erin Cook, and herself, and certificates are ready for tonight.

NEW BUSINESS

- 1. Flag orders: Two clubs indicated that they would be interested in ordering new flags. Renee Nichols said that they would be the outside material, but not be double-sided. She said that the last time she ordered, the flags were around \$50.
- 2. Parades: Camisha Stevenson and Renee Nichols presented information about various winter parades that members have ridden in the past. They said they will put announcements out on Facebook for anyone who would be interested in putting a group together.
- 3. State Show Bid: Three bids were submitted for the 2025 state show: Bentley, KS, hosted by Bit & Spur; Bennington, KS, hosted by Salina Rowdy Riders; and Lyons, KS, hosted by the board of directors. At the BOD meeting earlier that morning, it was approved that the 2025 state show will be hosted by the BOD and held in Lyons, Kansas, August 29th – August 31st, with September 1st as a rain date.
- 4. Rule Book Layout Change: Kevin Solofra presented information about how the rules committee wants to reorganize the rule book. Renee Nichols provided outlines and had a draft ready. The reorganization needed a two-thirds majority approval by the voting body of the association. Of the 59 available votes, 53 yes votes to reorganize the rule book, 0 no votes. Motion passed.
- 5. Rule Changes: Kevin Solofra read proposed submitted rule changes and led discussion. Rule numbers that passed: 5, 7–9, 13, 15–18, 21–38. Rules that failed: 1–4, 6, 10, 12, 19, 20. Rules that were withdrawn by the author: 11, 14, 39.
- 6. Election of officers: Jared Scheck was the only nomination for president. Norleen Knoll moved to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Jared Scheck as president. Alaura Crockett-Armijo seconded. Motion carried. For vice president, Toma Griffey had been nominated by the committee, and Mark Riley was nominated by the floor. Willard

Sanders moved to cease nominations; Linda Sanders seconded. Mark Riley will be the 2025 vice president. Nomination for treasurer was Norleen Knoll. No nominations from the floor. Jason Amlong moved to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Norleen Knoll as treasurer. Angel Amlong seconded. Motion carried. The remaining 1 year board members include Lynn Sidman, Triston Boxum, Jaiden Perales, Gregg Tucker, and Kevin Solofra. President Jared Scheck announced that Troy Cooley had resigned from his remaining 1 year term as of 9 am that morning. For the six 2-year and one 1-year board members, the nominations were Aaron Dohm, Camisha Stevenson, Darcy Settrini, Leah Keever, Whitney Wagner, Jordan Hoesli, and Adrienne Lobmeyer. Nominations from the floor were Cameryn Kinderknecht, Linda Sanders, Riley Cameron, Ian Smith, Shannon Pettijohn, Howard Sauer, and Shayna Pettijohn. Willard Sanders moved to cease nominations; Jessica Crockett-Armijo seconded. The 2-year board members for 2025 are Camisha Stevenson, Cameryn Kinderknecht, Riley Cameron, Aaron Dohm, and Jordan Hoesli. The votes for Howard Sauer and Darcy Settrini were tied, so a re-vote was required. After the re-vote, Howard Sauer is on the board for 2 years; Darcy, 1. For junior representatives, the committee nominated Jensen Miner, Skylar Amlong, and Alex Brandon. Nominations from the floor were Jeffrey Smith, Abby Flora, and Jordan Cameron. Jensen Miner and Jordan Cameron are the 2025 junior reps.

GOOD OF THE ORDER

Lynn Sidman thanked Renee Nichols for her assistance all through the year with the secretary position.

Jared Scheck thanked his fellow board members for a great year.

Willard Sanders moved to adjourn the meeting; Tonya Kohr seconded. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 5:29 pm.

Submitted by:

Lynn Sidman

Lynn Sidman 2024 KWHA Secretary