KWHA General Meeting October 28, 2023, 1:00 pm Fossil Creek Hotel & Suites – Russell, KS

President Kelly Forell called the meeting to order.

Secretary Renee Nichols conducted roll call. Thirty-four clubs answered roll call and sixty-one with votes available, thirty-one is a majority for the association.

Renee Nichols read the minutes of the General Meeting held February 18, 2023, in Russell, Kansas. Willard Sanders moved to approve the minutes of the General Meeting; Jackie Schreibvogel seconded the motion. Motion carried with a unanimous vote.

Treasurer Norleen Knoll provided the treasurer's report with a beginning balance of \$35,450.10 and an ending balance of \$36,973.06 with only the banquet bills left outstanding to pay. Norleen continued with the KWHA Scholarship Fund and a beginning balance of \$13,345.08, with \$4,950 of those dollars being committed, and an ending balance of \$15,260.51. Michelle Sauer moved to accept the KWHA general and scholarship treasurer's report as presented; Lucille Benton seconded. Motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Old Business

Committee Reports

Troy Cooley reported that the 75th year was a success and that an additional 75th Buckle would be auctioned off during the banquet.

Norleen Knoll reported that the finance committee had a successful year and to not forget to bid on the basket for silent auction during the banquet.

Jared Scheck reported the state show was a great success. Other than a few mishaps the show ran smoothly. He provided the stats that were sent into Rice County for the grant that was gifted.

Camisha Stevenson reported for the Judges committee. One person took the judges test and passed. Deena Humphrey passed the test and will complete her apprenticeship in 2024.

Benton Hrabe announced that he would be issued \$3,150 in scholarships during the banquet that evening. There were seven scholarship applications submitted and a panel of judges picked the winners and awarded the amounts to be issued based on the rubric provided.

Shawn Kohr had nothing new to report for the Rules Committee.

Kelly Forell reported for Alaura Crockett that there are some very nice awards for the Year End Banquet later this evening and will be available for viewing during the social hour.

Renee Nichols reported for the Web Social Media Committee that earlier during the KWHA Board meeting it was voted on and passed that a new website would be developed free of charge by Eagle Communications and that the points system would no longer be used. This website would be working for the 2024 season. Also, during the BOD Meeting a new entry form combining the Individual Judged and Running Events was submitted. This entry form was voted on and passed and will be replacing the two separate forms. All pair and team forms would remain as is.

Ken Newberg reported that the points had been calculated and checked and that all certificates were ready for the banquet.

Kelly Forell reported for Garett Windholz that there were several good nominations presented by the nominations committee.

New Business

Renee Nichols read the state show bid that was accepted by the Board of Directors at their meeting earlier today. Smith Center Heartland Riders will host the KWHA State Show August 31-September 1, 2024, at the Smith County Fairgrounds Arena in Smith Center, KS.

Kelly Forell started the election of officers.

Nomination for President from the committee was Jared Scheck. There were no other nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded nominations cease and cast unanimous ballot for Jared Scheck. Motion passed with a unanimous vote. Jared Scheck was elected as President for the 2024 season.

Nomination for Vice President from the committee was Toma Griffey. Nomination from the floor was Erin Dohm. There were no further nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded to cease nominations; motion passed with a unanimous vote. Toma Griffey was elected as Vice President for the 2024 season.

Nomination for Treasurer from the committee was Norleen Knoll. There were no other nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded nominations cease and cast unanimous ballot for Norleen Knoll. Motion passed with a unanimous vote. Norleen Knoll was elected as Treasurer for the 2024 season.

Elections for the 2024 Board Members followed. The remaining 1-year members included Benton Hrabe, Camisha Stevenson, Alaura Crockett-Armijo, and Kelli Basgall. Kelly Forell informed the membership the votes would be counted. Those with the most votes would fill the six (6) two-year members first and then the two (2) one-year members. Nominations from

the committee included Troy Cooley, Gregg Tucker, Triston Boxum, Jaiden Pavlu, Kenvin Solofra, Mark Riley, Jacob Stanley, Stalee Diehl Stanley, Greg Gillispie, Lynn Sidman, Darcy Settrini, and Jim Geihsler. Nomination from the floor was Howard Sauer. There were no further nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded to cease nominations; motion passed with a unanimous vote. 2024 Two-Year Board Members in no particular order will be Gregg Tucker, Triston Boxum, Jaiden Pavlu-Perales, Troy Cooley, Lynn Sidman, and Kevin Solofra. One-Year Board Members will be Mark Riley and Stalee Diehl Stanley.

Nominations for Jr. Representatives from the committee were Will Tucker, Riley Cameron, and Kamry Getz. Nomination from the floor was Jensen Miner. It was moved and seconded to cease nominations; motion passed with a unanimous vote. Will Tucker and Riley Cameron were elected as Junior Representatives for the 2024 season.

Kelly Forell announced the Social Hour would start at 4:00pm, followed by the meal and the awards banquet would start as soon as the meal was served. A dance with the live band would start at 8:00pm.

Howard Sauer moved that we accept the meeting for the good of the order, Willard Sanders seconded, motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Howard Sauer moved to adjourn the meeting, Troy Cooley seconded, motion passed with a unanimous vote.

Meeting Adjourned Respectfully Submitted

Renee Nichols KWHA Secretary